RSS

Most Prized Possession

26 Nov

“Most precious of all , perhaps, was the parcel that came from Benazir BHutto’s children Bilawal and Bakhtawar.  Inside were two shawls that had belonded to their late mother.  I buried my nose in them to try and smell her perfume.  Later I found a long black hair on one of them, which made it even more special” (Yousafzai 288).

http://www.newyorker.com/news/amy-davidson/happy-birthday-malala

“’I am the same Malala. My ambitions are the same. My hopes are the same. My dreams are the same,’ Yousafzai said. One hopes that those ambitions will remain limitless. She was wearing a shawl, she said, that Benazir Bhutto, the former Prime Minister of Pakistan, had worn before she was murdered. Yousafzai could run a country someday; she might do almost anything” (Davidson).

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 26, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
